The Monotones


Public domain | tc003

The Monotones only hit single was “The Book of Love”. The Monotones formed in 1955 and were Charles Patrick, Warren Davis, George Malone, John Smith, John Ryanes and Warren Ryanes. Book of Love was recorded in 1957 and the master leased to Chess for national distribution, being released on Argo in February 1958, going on to sell a million copies and attract a number of foreign cover versions.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.